The Star Education Fund FAQ (2014)

I received an e-mail on the 22nd of April 2014 that I was shortlisted for The Star Education Fund scholarship, that I had an interview to attend on the 5th of May.

Prior to the interview, I went on doing some research on the scholarship and also regarding the interview to prepare myself. I found there weren’t even a handful of blogs giving out specific details of the scholarship and I had to open up different sites and searches just to have some of the simple questions I have answered. And so I’ve decided to blog about my experience, to give you guys a walk-through of how the process goes, in hopes of answering any questions you might have regarding the scholarship, or the interview.

Note: I don’t know how will any of the below answers will change through time, but as of 2014, it is what it is. Also, I’m answering all these based on my own personal experience. 

 

1. Is there any bond to the scholarship?
As far as I’m concerned, no. That’s the best thing about this scholarship, in my opinion, they don’t force you to work for a certain sector, company, or anything like that. Zilch.

2. What does the scholarship cover?
The scholarship covers full tuition fees, in my case. There is no allowance or anything extra like that, but a fully paid tuition fee is good enough for me. Have you seen how much the courses at Nottingham cost?! Anyway, some people said they only cover 50% of their tuition fees, so I guess it depends on the college/university. You have to do your own research on that.

3. How did you know you were shortlisted?
Like I said, I received an e-mail from The Star, but I found out there are people who received a call from them as well, and for some actual, hard copy letters. So it should be in one of those forms.

4. I didn’t receive any news from them throughout April, does that mean I’m not shortlisted?
The shortlisting process is carried out from mid April to end of June, so some people might receive the news earlier, some later. It depends on the college/university you applied.

5. What do I have to bring to the interview?
In the e-mail it states to bring original, relevant documents, but during the interview, neither one of the interviewers asked for any documents. I don’t know if I’ve made a mistake in not showing them what I brought, or if it isn’t necessarily needed, but to be safe, just bring your documents along and present it to them even if they didn’t ask for it.

6. How many people will be interviewing me? Who are they?
In my case, there are 3 people. 1 of them from The Star, and 2 of them from the university.

7. How is the interview conducted?
It is a one on one interview and they’ll take turns asking you questions. They’re all pretty friendly people and they don’t sound/look strict or rigid by any means, you don’t have to worry about any scary interviewers.

8. What questions will they ask?
Basic ones like tell me about yourself, tell me about your family, how can you contribute to the university, how will this scholarship help you, stuff like that. There are no factual stuff, just things related to yourself. Just talk as you would to a friend, except don’t give short answers, don’t talk too long either. In my case, they asked about what books I like and why do I want to study English Literature, because it’s related to my course. So be on the lookout for similar questions related your own course. At the end of the interview, they will allow you to ask them a few questions so come prepared with some, because when I told them I didn’t have any, they looked surprised. It probably wasn’t a good expression… (In my defense, I said I didn’t have any at that time because I had already done my research on the scholarship and also the course, that’s why I couldn’t think of anything to ask. Now that I think about it, I probably should have asked when will I receive the result of my interview, or maybe I should have asked how will the classes be conducted, how many students are there in a class, stuff like that, stuff that cannot be found online.)

9. How long is the interview conducted?
For the person before me, it was about 15 minutes. I didn’t wear a watch and I was too nervous to even think about timing myself that I didn’t see the time on my phone before heading into the room, so I don’t know how long mine went on for.

10. What did you wear?
In the e-mail the dress code there stated “Office Wear”, so that’s basically what I wore. A blouse with a blazer, black pants and flats. I’m a girl by the way. lol. If you’re unsure whether your choice of attire is considered within the dress code, a little Googling will do.

11. How do you know whether or not you passed the interview?
They called me and I was told to head to The Star’s office and they explained all the details there. I think only those who passed the interview will be contacted though.

12. Anything else I should know about?
Yeah, make sure you ask your college/university about the application and registration process for scholarship holders. In my case, the scholarship offer doesn’t automatically mean I can skip application and go straight to registration. I still needed to apply before I could register, and I found out about that pretty late too, so don’t be naive like me. Ask properly.

13. Anything else?
I don’t know. If you still have questions, comment below and I’ll try my best to answer them for you 🙂

P.S. I wrote this post back in 2014 around April/May to August and when it’s finally ready to be posted, I think it’s a bit too late so I’m posting this now instead since the application for the scholarship is near. Good luck 🙂

49 thoughts on “The Star Education Fund FAQ (2014)

  1. Hi Suzanne, I applied for scholarship for a degree course at UNMC as well, but I haven’t received any reply until now. The only available intake for the course I applied is in September, and I read on another website said that when they inform shortlisted candidates depends on the intake time. So, do you know when I should give up waiting for the call? I’m afraid of missing the application deadline for uni 😦

    Like

    1. Hi Yoru, I know that back in 2014 the shortlisting process for the scholarship lasts up till end of June, but I’m not quite sure how it is right now since it’s been 3 years. UNMC’s registration deadline is early September for their September intake, so I wouldn’t worry too much about that 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi! Thank you so much for your post 🙂 Ermm before I get to know to attend the interview, I have applied and registered for foundation in law which is July intake in MMU. But now, I have received their email about the interview and the course I apply is A level in BAC. Is it okay if I attend the interview and I have to tell them about this? Or I should reject their offer and just go for mmu? I am quite confusing because I really hope to get the full or half scholarship from the star education fund. I am thinking about study A level in BAC and then pursue my law degree in MMU. Is it advisable for me to this? Thank you for so much for reply and I wish all the best to you in your future too 😀

    Like

    1. Hi there, sorry for the late reply! WordPress’s notification has been quite buggy lately. I’m happy that this post has helped you out in some way and I hope you’ve sorted this out. But if you still need to talk to me about anything, you can PM me on my Instagram account @suzannewritesstories. I’ll be able to reply more quickly there 🙂

      Like

  3. After you’re done with the interview , how long do they take to contact you to tell that you are qualified as the recipient of The Star scholarship ? Is it a few days , weeks or on the spot itself ?

    Like

  4. hi suzanne.I know this post had been so long time ago but I hope u replied it.
    The star education ask to write a separate sheet about the details of extra curricular activities and so on.My question is do I need to write on a piece of paper or I can only type in the computer?

    Like

  5. Hi, may i know whether all the supporting documents need to be certified by the university college ? Because it didn’t stated on the terms and conditions

    Like

  6. Hello,
    I am a diploma graduate. Do you know if I am eligible to apply for thestar scholarship to pursue my Degree course? Thank you 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi there,

      If you haven’t been funded by The Star in your Diploma, I believe you’re eligible to apply for Degree. But do ask your college/university’s sponsorship department for clarification! 🙂

      Like

  7. Hi I just graduated from secondary school and got my SPM result. So what I want to ask is if I were to apply for this scholarship, can I apply for a degree program or only foundation/pre-u program ? And the form section E it states that I have to write about my extracurricular activities and reasons to apply for this scholarship, how long should I write ?

    Like

    1. Hi Tay, sorry for taking so long to reply this!

      Since you just finished SPM, the next step would be foundation. However, if you receive the scholarship for the foundation programme, it’s possible that you won’t be able to continue the scholarship for your degree programme. I don’t know how much of this is true, but I just thought you should be aware of this. Of course you should ask your college/university for clarification.

      For the extracurricular activities part, I only wrote one paragraph for each society, uniform body and sport I joined.

      Hope that helps!

      Like

  8. Hello, I’m awarded the Star Edu Fund but this sem I wasnt able to hit the average 60% requirement. Will the uni be revoking my scholarship? I’m really worried.

    Like

  9. Hello there ! Can I know if you applied to Nottingham the same as other students? As in you paid the fees and provided a reference letter? Thank you!

    Like

  10. Hi.I just received a call saying that i have been short-listed for the scholarship.But I haven’t received their e-mail.I am worry since tomorrow is the last day of registration for my course.So i wonder when can i receive their email..

    Like

  11. Hi! May I know if the TSEF will cover all tuition fees? I applied for the A-Levels (Arts) to MCKL, will I be able to get a full tuition fee waiver or will it depend on the college? My SPM results were quite alright as I secured 7A’s and 2B’s. As I have heard, the scholarship comes from the colleges/universities and TSEF acts as a conduit for students to apply for the colleges/universities’ forms of scholarships. Thanks in advance!

    Like

    1. Hello, Cal! It really depends on your college. For my university, whether or not it covers the full tuition fees is stated under the scholarship page on my university’s website. Maybe you could check yours there too? And yes, the fund does come from your college, not The Star, that’s why there’s no bond. Hope that helps 🙂

      Like

      1. Hi! Unfortunately your University website does not specify the amount that is given. For my case, my college of choice’s website only states their Merit Scholarships which is quite little. Do you think that TSEF will help pitch in some more percentage or will it depend on the interview? Or will everything be given based on their already set scholarships regardless of my interview as they take my SPM results in full consideration leaving little room to increase my scholarship? Thanks!

        Like

        1. This is what is written on UNMC’s website: http://www.nottingham.edu.my/Study/Fees-and-Scholarships/Scholarships/sponsor-information/TheStarEducationFund.aspx

          So comparing it with the fees stated under the course page, it covers the full amount. I’m not sure whether your Merit Scholarships and The Star scholarships are the same things actually. I think you should contact The Star for further clarification. From what I know, the amount is fixed regardless of your semester results or interview outcome.

          All the best!

          Like

  12. Hi there, wanna ask about the cgpa. How much you will need to score for every semester? What is the minimum cgpa the star had set?

    Like

            1. That’s great! 😀 I hope the interview goes well.

              They use the percentage system here, so the minimum should be 60%. I heard this from another one of the scholarship holders actually, I didn’t ask anyone from the sponsorship office… which I probably should… Heh.

              Like

                1. Well, it depends how well versed you are in writing critical essays. For me, I had to work hard for my 60+ average ’cause it’s something I’m not familiar with. I would assume you’re fluent in English which is a great start, but of course that’s not all that matters 🙂

                  Like

  13. Hi Suzanne, thanks for posting this article, it’s really helpful 🙂 I would like to know how family income plays into the interview. I’ve heard that priority would be given to applicants with low family income and I’m worried that I won’t make the cut as I come from a middle-class family. Also, is it possible to do a video call interview? I live in Sarawak and it would be a hassle to fly to kl for the interview. I’ve already contacted the Star about it but so far they haven’t replied so I was wondering if you’ve ever heard of such a case.

    Like

    1. Hi Dee 🙂 I’ve also heard of the same thing, but like you, I also come from a middle class family actually, so I think they do consider it but not that much. Personally I think passion is a more important factor ’cause when I talked to the 3 other shortlisted candidates why they chose the course (English Literature), they said they wanted to be teachers whereas I just wanted to write because I have a passion for writing. I don’t know if I’m right or wrong, but that’s just how I see it.

      For your second question, one of the shortlisted candidates who were there for the interview that day was also a Sarawakian so she purposely flew all the way here just for the interview. I’ve never heard anything about video calls but definitely keep trying to contact The Star. I think calling would be better than emailing.

      Hope that helps!

      Like

      1. Hey Suzanne 😀 just an update on the news, I’m happy to say that I got the scholarship. Thank you so much for writing this article, it helped me a lot to prepare. I would like to add that the number of interviewers differ with other universities. In my case there were around 8 people interviewing me and I had to fly to the campus in kl for the interview. Anyways, thank you again for all the tips and info, it really helped me and I’m sure it’ll help a lot of other candidates.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Hi! Do I have to receive the offer of the university before going for the interview? (The University of Nottingham has sent me the offer letter, but I haven’t paid the deposit.)

    Like

    1. Hi there 🙂 No, you don’t have to. In fact, I didn’t even apply for UNMC, I just applied for the scholarship first, then after I got the scholarship did I apply for UNMC. Hope that helps.

      Like

  15. Will they ask about current issues? And do we have to make presentation about any topic given ie. current issues or group presentation / write essay? Thanks.

    Like

    1. Nope, there’s no presentation and I don’t know about others, but I was interviewed individually. The only essay I had to write was when submitting the application form where I was asked to write about my kokuriculum stuff, but if you’re already called for the interview you don’t have to worry about that 🙂

      Like

  16. Hi Suzanne. I am applying for the Star Education Fund as well, for both Nottingham and Kolej Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman. I managed to obtained 5A’s 1B+ 1C 1D 1E with my SPM results. The course i want to pursue is Social Science/Human Sciences. I’m fairly an all rounder student as i’ve participated in both in school extra curricular and held many positions and also i have working experience with both Petrosains and Jaya Grocer. Could you help me out?

    Like

    1. Hi there. I’m not sure I understand what kind of help do you mean, but I think you should just try out ’cause being an all rounder helps I think. Your results are also average which is great because they don’t take your results too much into consideration. I didn’t get straight As for my STPM when I applied, so I think you should definitely give it a shot 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

