Nerd Talk: Where Rainbows End (Love, Rosie) by Cecelia Ahern

Hello everybody! It’s been such a long time since I last written a Nerd Talk, that’s because I haven’t read anything in these few months and I’ve missed reading so much. Okay, so today I’m going to talk about Where Rainbows End (or the alternate title, Love, Rosie) by Cecelia Ahern.

This book basically tells the story of Alex Stewart and Rosie Dunne who had been best friends since they were 5 years old and the story goes on until they’re 50. The entire book is written in the form of letters, emails, postcards, greeting cards, etc. So the whole book is basically a bunch of dialogues between all the characters (not just dialogues between Alex and Rosie), and you get to know what’s going on in their lives that way, through their conversations. It’s really interesting, and upon reading the first few pages of the book, I was immediately hooked. Young Alex and young Rosie were so cute!

I was first attracted to reading the book because of the Love, Rosie movie trailer.

There are like 3 other variations of the trailers, if you’re interested you can search for them. So yeah, I loved the trailers and I found myself rooting for Alex and Rosie upon watching them, so much so that I had to read the book. And let me tell you, I haven’t felt such intense emotions reading a book before. (Maybe I have but I don’t remember, if I did then I haven’t felt it in a while) It’s brought me to an emotional roller coaster ride, this book. It’s crazy how sucked in I was by it. Oh and also, what you see in the trailer is just the first quarter of the book by the way. I saw comments on YouTube saying how the trailer spoiled the entire movie and I was like, no they didn’t. They don’t know what they’re talking about. Heh.

Disclaimer: spoilers ahead.

whererainbowsendcovers

 

I have to admit, half way through the book I was so frustrated at Alex and Rosie that I took a peek of the last page. When I did, I was like, no way, really? Really?Why?

(Okay I guess I should mention that my friend told me the entire story a while back, like last year, but my memory of it is very vague now and I still want to give the book the benefit of the doubt, but the more I read, the more I think my friend wasn’t exaggerating when she said they only got together when they’re old, like grandparents old)

Yeah, but I stopped myself from reading the second last page of the book, or the page before that.

After like, 12 years, Greg finally returned Alex’s confession letter to Rosie, but it was 12 years too late. Greg probably forgotten all about the letter and only remembered 12 years later, which makes me dislike him even more. I understand why Rosie didn’t want to talk about it to Alex, I just wished she would at least ask or subtly hint it to him. They’ve been best friends like forever, it’s not like they won’t be friends anymore just because of that, right? They kissed twice and still remained friends, so… But Rosie being Rosie, she didn’t say a word. Alex found out through Katie that Rosie felt the silence too, all those years ago. He still had feelings for her, even at the age of 50. They finally got together at 50. At 50!

I don’t know what to feel. I just felt like, oh well, at least they got together. It was a happy ending that I was none too happy about. It’s like, all those wasted years! But at the same time, oh well, it’s better late than never. My emotions are just messed up. I don’t think I’ve felt this way upon reading a book before. Throughout the book, I smiled, I laughed, I felt sad, angry, and sometimes I felt like throwing the book to a wall. I’m going to assume it’s normal to experience these emotions with this book.

Oh, on the bright side, Katie discovered the magical silence with Toby at thirty-something. That’s good. I’m happy she didn’t follow her mother’s footsteps. Lol.

My favourite parts of the book other than the beginning with young Alex and young Rosie exchanging notes and getting caught, it’s the part when Rosie told Ruby how Greg brought her to a small village, and they walked by the lake, and then he proposed in a quiet restaurant, and Ruby was like, but you HATE villages, you love the city! You HATE lakes, you love the sea! You HATE quiet restaurants, you want to be proposed in a crowd full of people! I was like sighing. After that when Rosie asked Alex how would he have proposed, every detail he mentioned was spot on: the hotel, the sea, rose petals, crowd full of people. My heart just couldn’t take it at that point. I felt like my heart was ripped to shreds. Like, why are they not together?!

Yes, that’s one of my favourite parts ’cause it kind of shows how perfect Alex was for Rosie but their timing was just messed up, as Ruby once said to Rosie.

At page 179, Alex finally wrote a confession letter to Rosie and I couldn’t believe it. Alex finally realized it was jealousy he felt at Rosie’s wedding, he finally realized he and Rosie were made for each other! And then Greg ruined everything. Everything! Luckily the second time Greg cheated on Rosie, Kevin punched Greg and broke his nose. I like Kevin a little more after that. Oh and I thought Kevin got into trouble or something ’cause he’s always so secretive and seldom contacts the family, but nope, nothing’s wrong with him. He’s just like that. I just over analyzed that I suppose.

When Rosie got a divorce and was just about to move to Boston with Alex, Brian the Whine showed up and ruined everything, I felt so bad for Alex. I understand Rosie’s reasoning for wanting to let Katie get to know her father, but at the same time I wished she was a little more selfish and put herself first. But well, that didn’t happen, and Alex went on dating Bethany. There’s nothing wrong with her actually, but in the trailer it made her look like a slut, maybe to fit her Slutty Bethany title. Haha.

Okay, that’s all I want to talk about.

If you can’t tell, I love the book.

Yeap, I can’t wait for the movie to be out. Another 2 months to go.

I hope it doesn’t make me feel these split emotions I did when I read the book. Heh.

Oh and I lost count on how many times I watched the trailers. I might be obsessed.

You can read my previous Nerd Talks here.

Leave a Reply

