Oh, Alice #AtoZChallenge

Hey there 🙂 If you’ve been following my blog lately you would know that I normally post short stories and occasionally random things. Today is one of those random-things days and I’ll be honest and say it’s because I’m stuck. You know, like a writer’s block of sorts, I’m stuck on ideas. But no worries, I’ve pre-scheduled a short story for tomorrow and personally it’s one of my favourites yet. Now onto this random thing I came up with.

When I was little, I watched the cartoon version of Alice in Wonderland on the Disney Channel and while I don’t remember my thoughts back then, I remember finding it strange, but then liking it at the same time. I also watched the 2010 Alice in Wonderland movie by Tim Burton. But at that time, I had never even touched the original book written by Lewis Carroll. I just wasn’t a fan of classics.

I then met a friend while I was in Form 6 (Pre-U) and we talked about books we liked and I found out she’s read a lot of classics and the way she talked about them fascinated me. ( If you’re reading this Elizabeth, it’s your fault that I have Jane Austen’s books lying around in my room 🙄 ) So anyway, there was this book sale going on and they sold classics for only RM5 each (1.54 USD) and I thought, it’s such a great deal, wouldn’t hurt to buy a few. Also at that time I was watching this korean drama called Cheongdamdong Alice and it was vaguely inspired by Alice in Wonderland, so I was kind of interested in the book then.

It took me a while to get around reading any of the classics I got since it was still an unfamiliar territory for me, but yeah, I finished reading Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll and it became one of my favourite books. Ever.

The book is all sorts of strange and quirky, but at the same time it was hilarious. The way Alice’s mind work, added with all the funny characters, it just made me laugh. I guess the main reason why I liked the book so much is because it made me happy. It is full of nonsense I could never take seriously, and that’s a big part of why it’s such a fun read.

216231

This is the exact book that I own. I’ve seen other, prettier covers and wish I own those instead.

alices-adventures-in-wonderland-sir-john-tenniel

Like this one. Oh well, it’s what’s inside that counts.

I’d love to hear what are some of your favourite classic books to read 🙂

15 thoughts on “Oh, Alice #AtoZChallenge

  1. It wasn’t all that long ago that I read Alice, and I have the picture from the cover of your version on my bag – love it 🙂 I have vague recollections of reading through the looking glass, but I think I was too young to really get that and will have to revisit it.
    I’m not a massive fan of many classics, but I think because a lot of the ones I’ve tried to read are set in the real world, so it’s kind of like reading a historical novel (which isn’t really my scene).

    Like

    1. I’m not that big a fan of historical novels either, but I have a weird fascination for how they converse. The way they speak is just different from the way we speak now, it’s really interesting, to me.

      Like

  2. Hey Suzanne! Can you share your experience what is so interesting about Classics? I’m about to take Form 6 this year. Hope I can enjoy reading them as well as polish my language skills.

    Like

    1. Well, the only classic book I read is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, so I don’t really know how to explain exactly why I found it interesting… Since you’re taking form 6, I actually don’t recommend you to read classics to polish up your English. Haha. ‘Cause the way they write is different from our modern English. It’s not required of you to read any classics anyway, unless if you’re taking English Literature. In my opinion, you should read more articles, ’cause the type essays you have to write for MUET is more article-like.

      Anyway, all the best for your Form 6 🙂

      Like

  3. Some classic books I love more than others. For instance, Pride and Prejudice highly entertained me when I first read it, but I was not as entranced with Oliver Twist. I love some of the newer classics, such as Of Mice and Men and To Kill A Mockingbird. I recommend those two, if you have not read them already.

    Like

    1. I have Pride and Prejudice with me, but I haven’t got around to really read it yet, I only read a few pages of it. Heh. Maybe I’ll read To Kill a Mockingbird sometime, I heard great things about it.

      Like

  4. Classics…sigh. I think the force-feeding of them in high school turns many people off to them. They are much slower to get to the point of things and society is used to full speed and explode! LOL I’ve never read Jane Eyre though. Maybe I should try?

    Like

  5. I’m not a fan of the classics much either and I don’t usually read anything pre 1930 (except poetry) but I totally love Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Beautiful and haunting 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

