Maybe This Time #AtoZChallenge

Flower garlands adorned every inch of the picket fences I walked through, more flowers were put in vases, decorating the whole venue. The whole garden-themed wedding was what you’ve always wanted. I smiled, happy you got your wish.

Guests kept pouring in and I made my way to the seating area and sat on the last row. I wasn’t sure why I even came. What was the point in seeing you tying the knot with another man? I was only hurting myself. Knowing that, I came anyway.

“Excuse me, is this seat taken?” A woman to my right asked, snapping me out of my reverie.

“No,” I replied, forcing a smile. She sat beside me, and I couldn’t help but notice how lovely she looked in a long, pale blue dress and a white headband. She had blonde hair with soft curls that looked natural, but after dating a few girls, I knew she spent at least twenty minutes on her hair alone. “Um, my name is Liam by the way,” I said, trying to sound friendly.

“Ally, nice to meet you.” We shook hands. “Who are you here with?”

“I came alone, actually.”

“Really? Are you the bride or groom’s, I mean, what is your relationship with, um–”

“I’m the bride’s ex,” I interrupted. She was so nervous around me it made me laugh. I’ve been told to be good looking by a few people before, maybe she thought the same, and it made her tongue tied. She looked cute. “We remained friends, even though I still have feelings for her. I know, I look pretty dumb right now, don’t I?”

“No, not at all,” she paused, “Okay, maybe a little. You’re kind of brave though.”

“Nope, I’m pretty sure I was driven by stupidity, but thank you for saying that.” I smiled. “How ’bout you? Are you the groom’s ex?”

She laughed. “Unfortunately no.”

“Bummer.”

“I’m Michelle’s elementary school classmate. We keep in touch after all these years. I don’t see anyone I know though.”

“I don’t think I even remember anyone from my elementary school days. That’s pretty cool.”

We then talked about Michelle for a little while. Ally told stories from back in the day, and I told her about meeting Michelle for the first time and how we ended up breaking apart. It was strange how much I was able to open up to Ally like that, normally I’d be more reserved when talking to strangers. That wasn’t the case with her.

“Can I ask you a question?”

“Yeah, sure,” she said.

“Do you have a boyfriend?”

She giggled, and her smile made her look beautiful. “As a matter of fact, I don’t. I haven’t had one for a while.”

I had no idea why I even asked her that question. I thought I wasn’t over Michelle yet, and I wasn’t going to use Ally as a rebound. But maybe I wasn’t going to. I really wanted to get to know Ally, maybe as friends at first. Then, whatever happens, happens.

“Let’s keep in touch, I mean, if you want to.” Now it was my turn to feel nervous.

“I’d like that.”

Her smile made me believe I made the right choice.

If you’re interested in reading more of these things, click here.
Thank you for reading!

9 thoughts on “Maybe This Time #AtoZChallenge

  1. Hello back from fellow a-z’er. I am on holiday until the weekend and your theme isn’t quite so mobile friendly so it is hard to view it properly however once home I definitely want to take a proper look as it looks stunning xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

