Disrespectfully Taken for Granted #AtoZChallenge

I follow certain popularย bloggers and YouTubers, and 2 of the bloggers I follow–fourfeetnine(blog, dayre) and xiaxue (blog, dayre)–are now mothers, while the YouTuber–bubzbeauty (main, vlog)–I follow is now expecting a child. Through reading their blogs and watching vlogs, I’ve come to learn how hard it is to be a mother.

Pregnancy is such torture. You suddenly crave certain foods and you suddenly don’t eat your favourite foods anymore. The loo is now your friend and you cannot have a peaceful sleep at night. After the baby is born, you basically have to revolve your life around that child because he/she depends on you to take care of him/her. That helpless little being is now your responsibility. And it’s practically impossible to have a proper night’s sleep anymore.

That pretty much sums up what I’ve learnt, but even so, I feel it doesn’t do any of what mothers go through justice. It’s only through reading/watching them talk about their daily struggles would you understand (though not fully, ’cause you can never fully understand until you become one) what’s it like for our mothers to take care of us.

I’ve gained a newfound respect for my own mother–though I never actually told her–knowing what she went through, taking care of me as a child, and right now, as a working mom, how she had to come home after work, cook dinner for us, fold and iron our clothes, as well as other household chores and duties. I can’t stand it when people complain to their mothers about things that she didn’t do right, or people who shrug off a mother’s duty, claiming it’s not as hard as they make it out to be, while they don’t do anything about it. All they do is talk. And it’s incredibly disrespectful, in my opinion. Sometimes I imagine how living a week without my mom would be like, and then I realize how much work she actually does, and how much I’ve taken her for granted.

I don’t know, I feel like every son/daughter should read pregnancy blogs to know how much mothers should be appreciated. lol.

5 thoughts on “Disrespectfully Taken for Granted #AtoZChallenge

  1. Love this post. Being a mother is so much harder than anyone can know until they actually do it. I recently read this online article where a woman basically put down any woman who gets married and has kids and it really upset me. I wonder if her own mother read it and how she felt about it.

    Like

  2. I know I didn’t appreciate my mother enough when I was a teenager. As I’ve grown older I realize how much my mom did for me. She is an amazing woman and I’m lucky to have her. I tell her that she seems to have grown smarter as I’ve grown older. Of course, I know its”s me who is finally gaining wisdom.

    Like

    1. Yeah, when I was a teenager (which isn’t that long ago, I’m going on 20 this year, heh) I found her really annoying and I couldn’t understand why she had to nag all the time. lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

