Nerd Talk: Cloaked

Today’s post will be another Nerd Talk πŸ˜€ It’s been quite a while since I’ve done one of those. So today I will be talking about Cloaked by Alex Flinn. I’ve started reading this book like one or two months ago actually, but I’ve only finished reading it like 2 weeks ago because of my exams, so forgive me if my memory fails to recall the exact details.

Let me start by saying Alex Flinn is the only author (so far) that I’m a fan of. Her works, I mean. Usually I buy books because of the story and genre, not because of the author–generally I don’t have a favourite author–but whenever Alex Flinn releases a new book, I would want to buy it. Though her older books are of a different genre, the ones I’ve read from her are fairytales set in a modern world. My favourite one is A Kiss In Time, which is a modern take of the classic tale Sleeping Beauty. If you’re into teenage-type novels and fairytales then I think you would enjoy reading her books too. Though I must say, I think her books are targeted towards teenage audiences and not a 19-to-be-20 year old audience because of the simplistic writing style, but what the heck I still enjoy reading them.

Disclaimer: there are no spoilers πŸ™‚

Cloaked

cloakedcovers

Cloaked is a story set in Miami, about a boy called Johnny whose family earns a living through a shoe repair shop in a hotel. He dreams of becoming a famous shoe designer someday and he certainly works towards his dream, secretly crafting shoes in his spare time and he’s pretty knowledgeable about shoes, too. He does find his life boring and craves for adventure though. When a princess checks into the hotel and asks for his help to find her brother, he thinks the princess is bonkers but accepts the offer anyway since it’s a chance for him to leave the hotel for once.

He then embarks on an adventure involving talking animals (who were once humans), giants and witches. He saves a couple of swans along the way, gets a fox to help him with a golden feather and in the end finds his dad as well, and of course manages to save the prince. It’s an adventure-filled book that’s fun and light to read.

I have to admit, I don’t think this is Alex Flinn’s best book among the other 3 I’ve read from her (Beastly, A Kiss In Time, Bewitching) and I think it’s largely because of the protagonist, Johnny. I like Johnny because he’s humble and mostly a nice guy, but he’s also very dense, especially when it comes to his best friend, Meg. Maybe the fact that guys in general are pretty dense when it comes to subtle hints from girls, that Johnny is just the same? I don’t know.

Okay, other than that I would say this is overall a pretty good book that to me deserves 3.5 stars πŸ™‚

You can read my previous Nerd TalksΒ here.

Leave a Reply

