Nerd Talk: Perks of Being a Wallflower

Today’s Nerd Talk will be about Perks of Being a Wallflower written by Stephen Chbosky, which—like I said before—is not something I’m typically drawn to ‘cause I prefer fantasy or dystopian genre books more, but since it was recommended to me by a friend I thought I’d give it a go. In my first Nerd Talk I’ve mentioned that my reviews would have spoilers, but this one there isn’t any, so you can go ahead and safely read everything if you want to 🙂

Perks of Being a Wallflower

PerksCovers

When you first pick up the book, you would notice that the entire book is written in a way that it’s like you’re receiving letters from this Charlie kid and the whole book is basically a compilation of all his letters in a span of a year. I actually didn’t know about that so when I first read the book, it was really interesting to me ‘cause I’ve never read a book like it before. And the letters that he was writing to, it just says “Dear friend” and sometimes I wondered who that friend could be, and other times I felt like he was writing to me. (hey, that rhymes!) It wasn’t until I Googled who Charlie was writing the letters to that I found out how the author actually wanted the letters to address to the readers. Like, if you were to pick up the book, you automatically become that person Charlie was writing to. So that was pretty cool. He was writing to me after all 🙂

Basically the whole story is about his life as a junior in high school. There was nothing out of the ordinary but yet I get this feeling where I just couldn’t put the book down. The author has written in such a way that made Charlie seemed incredibly genuine in the letters he wrote, so much so that you can’t help but care for him. At least that’s what I felt. I really wanted to know what happens to Charlie and that made me continue reading. He has this really shy and introverted personality that I could totally relate to, but he just thinks a whole lot more than I do and doesn’t “participate” as much. He did become friends with these seniors, Patrick and Sam and they’re so outgoing and non-judgemental and didn’t find Charlie a weirdo for being so quiet all the time. Since then, he went to parties, got stoned and stuff like that, stuff that you’d expect out of a teen.

Thing is, throughout the book, Charlie did some things that I personally dislike, like smoking and performing on a stage in his underwear, but yet with Charlie, it didn’t seem like that big a deal. Maybe it was because he’s such a nice and innocent guy, sometimes honest to a fault, that you can’t help but like him no matter what he does. Well, that’s what I thought at first until I read on this blog that it’s the whys behind the actions that count. Of all the things Charlie has done, his intentions behind them are clear and harmless. He smokes to distract himself, not to appear cooler; he performs on The Rocky Horror Picture Show to help his friends, nothing else. That’s why I like Charlie so much.

To find out that all this while, the person that he loved the most was someone who caused him so much trauma and wounded him for years, and yet he still forgave her because he loved her, I just find that really… noble? I don’t know, it just made me went speechless. And teary eyed. Well not during the book, but in the movie. Because of what she did to him, not because of how nice he was.

I’m not sure if I made much sense or if I sounded convincing enough, but if I don’t, I’m saying that this book is amazing. It’s basically high school in its rawest form, from the perspective of an extremely nice guy called Charlie, which is sadly fiction.

“And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”
-Charlie

You can read my previous Nerd Talks here.

 

Leave a Reply

