Nerd Talk: Delirium

Delirium

So basically I’ve been having requests from my friends to do a book review and I thought I’d give it a go, thus Nerd Talk is born. Haha. I thought I’d give my book review posts a cute name in order to keep myself motivated. Heh.  Before you start judging me for lacking professionalism, please know that this is my first time and I have no idea what is the right or wrong way to do this. Oh, just a heads up, I’m going to talk about spoilers because I wouldn’t know how to properly express whatever it is that I feel towards the book if I don’t include any, you know? So yeah, let’s get started. (I’m actually nervous!)

Delirium

DeliriumCovers

Delirium is a story set in a dystopian world where the government brainwashes their citizens into believing love–or amor deliria nervosa as they put it in the book–is a disease and that it should be cured. Correction, it has to be. The first book in the trilogy centres around Lena and how she couldn’t wait to get cured because she couldn’t stand the idea of being contaminated with the disease, and partly because her mother was “infected” and they couldn’t get it out of her system and it just created a dark memory for her, because of what the disease did to her mother. She is shunned because people thought it is genetics, that Lena would catch amor deliria nervosa as well. *rolls eyes* The government somehow comes to a conclusion that love is the cause of hate, because if you don’t love, you wouldn’t know how to hate either. It’s interrelated of sorts, like your mouth and your nose, when you have a flu, you can’t taste properly (at least that’s how I interpret it). And they also feel that suicide and crime is also rooted from love, so there’s extra reason for it to be removed from humans, so people would stay clean and would obligate the government. See, even though on the surface the government says love is the cause of evil and people who love are like animals, what the government really wants is that its people obligate them in every way possible. The brainwashing actually goes way beyond just labeling love as a disease. In the book, the scientists create a cure that somehow messes up with your brain and removes the love emotion from it. They call it “the procedure” and you have to be at least 18 to get it. Unless if you caught the disease earlier, then you should be cured as soon as possible, no matter how bad the side effects would be. You see, people are so afraid of the disease that even if their kids catches it at a younger age, they would rather risk their children having mental disabilities than having them being in love. As you can probably tell, the whole society’s pretty messed up.

There’s this test that they have to take before going in for the procedure. It’s like a personality test in order for the scientists to come up with a perfect pair after they’ve been cured. Yeah, it’s like an arranged marriage. It makes sense, since people can’t feel anymore, how could they choose their pair, right? When Lena is having her test, she is suddenly interrupted by a boy who just comes crashing in the labs with a cow. Yes, I clearly remember it was a cow. Right then and there, I knew they would have something something going on later in the story. But then, the boy whose name is Alex is cured because he has his procedural mark, which is visible behind his ear. I doubted myself then, but later he explains his scar is fake, and I was like, that’s smart (of the author)! The whole story then goes into telling Lena and Alex’s forbidden love story and Lena’s friendship with Hana and Lena’s relationship with her aunt, uncle and cousins.

Throughout the book, I was able to get a hold of the whole concept, of why people would believe love is something to be scared of. Although I have to admit, I’m not entirely fond of Lena’s constant mind-drifting, where it’s like she’s in a middle of something and during that moment a memory just pops up in her mind, that it reminds her of something that happened in her past. It gets a tad distracting in a way that it averts my concentration to that memory instead of what is actually happening, if that makes sense. That’s just me though. Going back to the part where people get paired by the government, even though they get married and have kids, the “real human connection”–as I would put it–isn’t there and people in general just care less, because you know, love isn’t there. The part about having kids though, sometimes I wonder how do they do it, ’cause in the book it says that regulators would be on guard at night in case there are uncureds roaming around after curfew (yeah, if you’re not cured yet, you have a curfew and if you’re out after curfew, you would be arrested) or if there are “unauthorized” make-out sessions being carried out, as in those overly heated ones. lol. Since they can’t kiss passionately, how could they have kids, you know what I mean? But whatever, that’s not the main point of the book.

The main point is that Alex has converted Lena into believing that love is not something to be afraid of and they plan on running way into the Wilds, the place where uncureds live, off-district, over the fence that the government has built. And the name does not kid you, the Wilds literally means people living in the wilds, like camping out and stuff. Since whoever believes in love is thought mentally ill and is thrown into this prison called the Crypts, they have no choice but to run away in order to have the freedom to love. Harsh, isn’t it? What’s harsher is the ending, when Lena and Alex tries to get over the fence but is found out by the regulators, police, I can’t remember which term is correct, but yeah, those people. The ending is tragic, but I find it clever in terms of setting up for the sequel and prequel of the book, actually.

DeliriumPandemoniumRequiem

I thought I would squeeze all 3 books in the trilogy into one post, but just one book alone is taking up more room than I’d expected. So, I’ve decided to separate this into 3 parts. So yeah, I’ll be posting about Pandemonium and Requiem soon.

You can read my other Nerd Talks here.

4 thoughts on “Nerd Talk: Delirium

  1. I’m glad that you put so much effort to write this review! Clearly written and interesting. I should read this after I read the books. xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

